Rutland Historical Society Quarterly Vol.7, No.1, 1977

Rutland Governors

This issue commemorates the eleven Rutland men who governed the State of Vermont from the late eighteen hundreds to the mid nineteen sixties.

The Silhouette on the cover is that of Israel Smith the first resident of Rutland to serve as chief executive for the state of Vermont 1807-1808, and serves as an introduction to the lives of the legislators who followed.

Brief biographies complete with photographs include Charles Kilborn Williams who served from 1850-1852, followed by John Boardman Page 1867-1869; Redfield Proctor 1831-1880; Fletcher Dutton Proctor 1906-1908; John Abner Mead 1910-1912; Percival Wood Clement 1919-1921; Redfield Proctor Jr. 1923-1925; Charles Manley Smith 1935-1937; Mortimer Robinson Proctor 1945-1947, and Robert T. Stafford 1959-1961.

In each instance their individual contributions and the impact they made during their tenure is discussed in exemplary detail.